Power of Choice (I-Day)

A fortnight of prepping pogo (and his father) has all been for this fateful day. Will they or wont they. Our fate awaits.

If submission of the application form sent me into a frenzy… then the day of the interview was a whole new ball game.. I was probably sleep walking or dazed or drugged or all at once.. b’cuz I have no idea how I reached the school and managed to get there with Pogo.

Always friendly by nature, Pogo refused to even enter the interview room (Whom am I kidding, I was scared to death, he just ran away). After a few (very long traumatizing) minutes, we (read I, while my darling husband had gone and conveniently settled down in the interview room) convinced Pogo to enter the room.

The interview was conducted in Pogo’s (fingers crossed) soon to be classroom. We were split into two groups – the parents and the child. While GK and I were asked to sit facing a teacher, (is it time to faint yet? ) Pogo was asked to sit on a child-friendly chair surrounded by books, colors, toys and puzzles.

Whilst sitting on his chair, Pogo was busy coloring and playing and refused to respond to any question. (Really dude? you bite my ear off with all the things you gotta say and now you play mute??!!) I jump onto the other section and join Pogo’s table as I nudge him to respond. “Wow Pogo, you are coloring beautifully, what color are you using” I say. Excited to have me at the table, Pogo goes on “This is puu (blue) color, this is olange (orange) color” and so on.

Happy that he has finally begun to respond, I  nudge him more to identify shapes and objects and colors. (Simultaneously uttering a million prayers to ever god that I can think of – hoping they don’t ask GK to identify anything – read here) Pogo responds correctly to most of my queries. (Happy dance time..!! well, no again..)

The teacher who was interviewing Pogo says “Well Pogo, you have your mother here with you, what is your mothers name” Oh damn.. the worst question she could have put forth to Pogo (read here). As expected, Pogo said “Pogo” In a rather loud voice, the teacher said, “Huh, your mother’s name is Pogo too” Pogo looked up, got upset and refused to do anything more.

Despite all my nudging, and the teacher’s repeated questioning of “Pogo, What’s your mother’s name” pogo didn’t budge. (Note to self – damn you, cant you stay off butting into his interview..!! he would have responded to generic questions anyway..!!!)

Finally, (I guess exhausted by the repetition) GK responded “Manasi”. Laughing, the teacher said, “Well, aren’t you an adamant little munchkin; since your father responded, he gets a pack of biscuits” and handed over a pack to GK which Pogo swiftly took.

Parenting 101: Butt-ing in causes more harm than good..!

P.S. Pogo got the admission.

One thought on “Power of Choice (I-Day)

  1. Pingback: Nomads | Mummy's Magic

Leave a Reply

