A New Beginning (Part 1)

Motherhood is an adventurous journey of many firsts. Today was Pogo’s first day of school. If you are an Indian parent (especially a study-crazy south Indian parent with a your-life-depends-on-good-education attitude, who would re-locate not just 20Kms but across the world for pre-school admissions – read here) then you would understand the significance of this milestone.

It seemed like any normal day would, bright sun shine seeping through the gaps in the curtain of our new bed room whilst we sleep on our cosy bed amidst a  few unopened cartons. Tring-Tring rang the alarm at half-past-six, I didn’t need it. I had hardly slept the night before. Pogo was officially beginning school in just a few hours. All I could do was think of the little bundle, wrapped in white placed before me. I didn’t even know his gender when he was born (read here) and here he is, all grown up and ready to start school (pre-school actually, but I feel like I am sending him off to some distant college). My mind was running through all the cute little shenanigans we experienced in the last 3 years. My mind constantly refuses to acknowledge that my little munchkin is all grown up. (Sob-sniff)

Pogo is in deep slumber, his soft snores seem adorable. With a heavy heart, I wake him and rush him to the potty. (Yup, diapers are banned in the school now). After a hurricane like rush through all things we need to carry, whilst getting Pogo bathed, dressed and fed. (read here) all of which is a task by itself.

Screaming at my currently docile hubby and my mother (dare someone to stand up against the mom-ster during the early morning rush hour), we carry everything we find might need to our car while dragging a not-so-interested Pogo; we rush to the nearest temple. (No beginning is complete without offering a coconut to Lord Ganesh.)

…to be continued.

Parenting 101: Screaming mothers are a natural sight – As a child, I was determined to grow up to be like the mothers from TV commercials, perpetually happy and never yelling – but God had “”screaming”” as a mandatory requirement on the Motherhood Job  Description and who can compete with that.

 

 

Leave a Reply

